Twitter has announced the suspension of the process of deleting inactive accounts after a negative reaction from users of the social network. The company also clarified that this process would affect only users from the European Union.
The company called the removal decision a “blunder”: the account of deceased users could fall under this. The social network will not delete inactive accounts until it comes up with a way to perpetuate the memory of deceased account owners.
On November 26, Twitter began sending out emails to owners of accounts inactive for six months with a warning – if the user does not log into the social network before December 11, then his profile will be deleted. In response to this, the “Internet Archive” launched a service that allows you to save tweets of dead users of the social network.