The British Association of Internet Service Providers called Mozilla one of the “villains” of 2019 for implementing blocking bypass

The company added technology to the browser to avoid government filters.

The British Association of Internet Service Providers (ISPA) announced the finalists of their own competition of heroes and villains of the Internet in 2019. Among the main “villains” was the Mozilla Foundation. This is stated on the ISPA website.

The developer of the popular Firefox browser was included in the rating for the introduction of DNS-over-HTTPS technology. The ISPA noted that the approach proposed by Mozilla allows to bypass the requirements of content filtering in the UK and parental control. According to the association, this “undermines Internet security standards” in the United Kingdom.

DNS-over-HTTPS is an experimental protocol that improves the security of Internet traffic. It is designed in such a way that it protects data from interception and “Mediator attacks”, with the help of which some providers block websites. Since March 2018, Mozilla and Google have implemented test protocol support in their browsers, but have not activated them for default users.

In the nomination of the main villain of the Internet include everyone who influenced the balance between “freedom of speech, copyright, and the interests of the global telecommunications industry.” In addition to Mozilla, Donald Trump was included in the list of “villains” for trying to protect national security to the detriment of the telecom industry, as well as Article 13 – the new copyright law in the European Union, which could lead to a ban on memes.

The list of heroes includes those who helped improve “trust and confidence in the Internet,” influenced the development of broadband Internet in the UK, or solved global legal issues. One of the finalists among the ISPA heroes was Tim Burners-Lee, who called for “rebuilding trust and protecting the open and free nature of the Internet” in a letter to the 30th anniversary of the network.

In addition, the list included Thinkbroadband website editor Andrew Ferguson for independent market analysis since 2000, as well as Oscar Tappe-Scotting and Paul Baker for their efforts to work with the UK government at the International Telecommunications Union conference.

The nominees for the award are determined by industry participants in the ISPA, as well as Twitter users. The winners will be elected in London on July 11 by members of the association board.

Back to top button