Apple

You forgot your iPhone backup password. How to disable

Many iPhone or iPad users, when connecting a gadget to iTunes on a computer, do not hesitate to include backup encryption. Of course, this is a useful option that will limit access to the local backup, however, it contains one unpleasant feature.

When you enable encryption, iTunes will ask for a password.

There is nothing wrong with this, just remembering this code in a few months will be difficult.

Reader Denis writes to us:

To access a backup copy of iPhone, iTunes asks for a password. Unfortunately, I don’t know it, iCloud account password doesn’t work.

How not to forget the backup password

The advice is quite simple, do not rely on your memory, paper or electronic media, just save the code in the iCloud keyring and there will be no problems in the future.

To do this, when creating a password, just mark the corresponding flag.

Why do we need this code

This level of protection helps to protect the user from data loss if the local backup falls into the wrong hands.

In addition, iTunes will kindly ask you to enter the code if you decide to turn off encryption backups. If you transfer the backup to another computer and try to restore it via iTunes again, you will need to enter a password.

Also, the code will be needed when using any third-party application to work with local backups.

It turns out that a forgotten password severely limits the backup options.

How to disable encryption backup without code

It is enough to completely erase the data on the device and restore the iPhone or iPad as a new one. After connecting to iTunes, encryption will be disabled, and when it is turned on, the program will ask you to come up with a new code.

Unfortunately, in this case, we lose access to the old backup.

How to disable encryption without losing data

1. Create a backup copy of the iPhone in iCloud ( Settings – Apple ID – iCloud – Backup ).

2. We reset the iPhone through the restoration of the firmware in iTunes on the computer.

3. After resetting, we configure the device as new in iTunes, encryption of backups will be disabled.

4. Now, once again, reset the iPhone through the iOS settings ( Settings – General – Reset – Erase content and settings ).

5. At the initial setup on the device itself, we restore the data from iCloud.

 

We get the iPhone in its original state, and when connected to a computer, we see that backup encryption is disabled.

If this requires data from the old backup stored on the computer, then before all this process we restore the device from the correct copy and carry out the described procedure (only if the backup was created on this computer, if the copy was transferred, then without a password nothing will be released).

Back to top button
Close
Close