Apple

What to do if you forgot your password for Screen Time on iPhone

One of the chips iOS 12 allows you to set a limit on the use of certain functions of the system, prohibits the use of certain programs longer than the established mode, introduces a restriction on visiting some sites or services.

Screen time is a logical development of a chip called Restrictions that existed on our devices before the release of iOS 12.

When you turn on the screen time, a four-digit code is set, it will be required to make changes to the settings of this unit, to turn off the screen time, or to extend the set limit for using programs or games.

How do I propose to disable Screen Time without a password in Apple

 

If you forget the password that is set when you turn it on, and now the chip prevents you from using the device normally, you will have to restore the firmware. There are no backup methods for resetting or changing the password.

Even the presence of Apple ID, mail, passwords and answers to secret questions will not help in this case.

Apple suggests tritely reset firmware via iTunes

After such an operation, of course, the password in the On-Screen Time section will disappear, but after restoring the data from the backup (if it was already created with a password), the restriction will return .

A great feature that can be disabled only at the cost of losing all the data on the device.

How to turn off the screen time without noise and dust

It turns out that the password is trivially stored in a backup copy of the device in an absolutely accessible form. No protection and encryption – come in and take it.

The situation was similar with the password from the section Restrictions for previous versions of iOS.

GitHub enthusiasts have developed a simple terminal utility to retrieve a password from a backup of the system.

1. Go to the project page and download the latest version of the program for macOS or Windows.

2. Connect the iPhone to the computer and launch iTunes.

3. In the section with a connected device, we change the method for creating a backup from iCloud to This computer and apply the changes.

4. Create a backup in iTunes.

5. Run the downloaded utility. The application will ask for a password if the backup encryption option is enabled. For those who do not remember this password, there is a reset instruction .

6. After a minute, the application will display a message in which it prompts you for the password set for Screen Time.

In the same way, you can find out the password from Restrictions in iOS 11 and older versions of the system.

For the most experiential and impressionable:

The utility is absolutely safe , it is laid out on one of the largest portals, where programmers and developers share experiences and code examples.

The utility source code is presented, any knowledgeable user can independently verify that the program does not collect user data and does not send anything to the network .

While the utility is running, you can disconnect from the network altogether or turn on the firewall to monitor network streams.

Unfortunately, children whose parents set limits on the use of certain programs or time limits can use this method.

Apple needs to do something about it, but judging by the fact that the password has long been stored unprotected, they are not going to correct the situation.

Back to top button
Close
Close