around the world

Medvedev announced the full list of the new government. The Medinsky, Lavrov and Shoigu remained in their places

But there are also new surnames.

Putin and Medvedev at a working meeting on May 18. Photo by the Kremlin press service
Putin and Medvedev at a working meeting on May 18. Photo by the Kremlin press service

Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev presented Vladimir Putin with a new list of Russian ministers, which the Russian president promised “today” to sign.

(Updated at 15:15) : Vladimir Putin signed decrees on the appointment of new ministers and approved a new cabinet structure.

The twelve officials Medvedev introduced to Putin were already part of the previous government. At the same time, there are nine “newcomers” in the new Cabinet.

The Ministry of Agriculture proposed to head Dmitry Patrushev , the son of the secretary of the ex-head of the FSB, Nikolai Patrushev, and the chairman of the board of Rosselkhozbank. Lead the Ministry of Emergency Situations will be a former security guard of Putin and the governor of the Kaliningrad region Eugene Zinichev .

Among the new ministers there are three former governors. The former head of the Amur Region, Alexander Kozlov, will head the Ministry for the Development of the Far East, ex-head of the Tyumen Region Vladimir Yakushev – the Ministry of Construction and Housing and Communal Services, and the former head of the Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous District Dmitry Kobylkin – the Ministry of Natural Resources and Ecology.

Former head of the analytical center under the government Konstantin Noskov will replace Nikolai Nikiforov as head of the Ministry of Communications, which is now also responsible for the digital development of the state. Replaced and the head of the Minister of Transport: Eugene Dietrich will take the place of Maxim Sokolov, from whom he previously worked as first deputy.

Ex-head of the Federal Agency for Scientific Organizations Mikhail Kotyukov will head the Ministry of Science, which was previously separated from the Ministry of Education. The former deputy head of the President’s Office for Interregional and Cultural Relations with Foreign Countries Sergei Chebotarev will become Minister for North Caucasus Affairs.

  • 🆕 Minister of Agriculture – Dmitry Patrushev;
  • 🆕 Minister for Civil Defense and Emergencies – Evgeny Zinichev;
  • 🆕 Minister for the Development of the Far East – Alexander Kozlov;
  • 🆕 Minister of Construction and Housing – Vladimir Yakushev;
  • 🆕 Minister of Natural Resources and Ecology – Dmitry Kobylkin;
  • 🆕 Minister for North Caucasus Affairs – Sergey Chebotarev;
  • 🆕 Minister of Science and Higher Education – Mikhail Kotyukov;
  • 🆕 Minister of Digital Development, Communications and Mass Communications – Konstantin Noskov;
  • 🆕 Minister of Transport – Eugene Dietrich;
  • Minister of Culture – Vladimir Medinsky;
  • Minister of Education – Olga Vasilieva;
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs – Sergey Lavrov;
  • Defense Minister – Sergei Shoigu;
  • Minister of Internal Affairs – Vladimir Kolokoltsev;
  • Minister of Justice – Alexander Konovalov;
  • Minister of Health – Veronica Skvortsova;
  • Minister of Economic Development – Maxim Oreshkin;
  • Minister of Industry and Trade – Denis Manturov;
  • Minister of Labor and Social Protection – Maxim Topilin;
  • Minister of Energy Alexander Novak;
  • Minister of Finance – Anton Siluanov.

Anton Siluanov retained the post of head of the Russian Ministry of Finance, which he held in the previous government. However, at the same time he will hold the post of first deputy Medvedev. Earlier, the Prime Minister announced a list of vice premiers, in addition to Siluanov also included Vitaly Mutko and the former head of the Accounts Chamber, Tatyana Golikova.

On May 15, Kommersant published excerpts from the working materials containing the government’s plans for 2019-2021. According to these documents, the government plans to allocate most additional resources to projects related to health development, digital modernization and construction of roads outside the capitals.

Back to top button