around the world

ECHR has accepted complaints about the ban of LGBT actions and gay pride parades in 10 cities of Russia

The Russian authorities are given a deadline before September 17 of this year for an answer.

The European Court of Human Rights opened and communicated to the Government of the Russian Federation complaints on the prohibition of gay pride parades and other LGBT actions in ten cities: Kazan, Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Samara, Voronezh, Irkutsk, Gorno-Altaisk, Ulyanovsk, Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, Barnaul and Elista . The Russian Government is given time until September 17 to respond.

Earlier, the ECHR accepted complaints about the prohibition of LGBT actions in nine cities: Orenburg, Pskov, Krasnoyarsk, Yakutsk, Yaroslavl, Vladimir, Kaluga, Arkhangelsk and St. Petersburg. According to them, the Russian authorities are given time to respond before July 3.

To date, the ECHR has opened cases in 33 cities. In total, complaints have been filed in Strasbourg on bans of shares in 103 cities, and the campaign for the freedom of assembly of LGBT people covers 208 cities of Russia in 80 of 85 subjects of the Russian Federation.

Back to top button