around the world

Angela Merkel became Germany’s Chancellor for the fourth time

The deputies of the Bundestag elected the leader of the Christian Democratic Union Angela Merkel the Federal Chancellor of Germany. It will be sworn in, in the second half of the day the first meeting of the new government will take place.

Merkel was supported by 364 deputies, 315 people opposed, 9 parliamentarians abstained. To win in the first round, it was enough for her to get the majority of votes (50% of deputies plus one more vote). Past chancellors in the newest history of the country were also elected in the first round.

The process of forming the government started on September 24, 2017, lasted 171 days and eventually became the longest in the history of Germany. This is due, among other things, to the fact that none of the parties that took place in the Bundestag won the parliamentary majority, and the coalition agreement was signed only on March 12, 2018.

The Chancellor is accountable to the parliament and is responsible for the main provisions of the policy. Merkel, who became the first woman in this position, has held a post since 2005. According to the Constitution of Germany, the number of terms on the post of the Chancellor is not limited.

The President of Germany since 2017 elected former Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier. In Germany, the head of the executive power is not the president, but the chancellor.

Back to top button